What is Best Care Collaborative?

Best Care Collaborative is an Accountable Care Organization (ACO), participating in the Next Generation ACO Model which is implemented through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) Innovation Center. ACOs are groups of doctors, hospitals, and other health care providers that come together to provide coordinated, high quality care to their Medicare Fee-for-Service beneficiaries. Coordinated care helps ensure beneficiaries, especially the chronically ill or those who are hospitalized, get the right care at the right time, and avoid unneeded duplication of services such as lab tests and x-rays.

Please visit www.medicare.gov/acos.html or call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227 (TTY users should call 1-877-486-2048)) for questions or additional information about Next Generation Accountable Care Organizations.

Public Disclosure of Participation Waiver  Board Resolution Regarding Provider Activity-Based Incentive Payment Program

ACO Name and location

Best Care Collaborative
6630 Orion Drive, Suite 205, Fort Myers, FL 33912-4440

ACO Primary Contact

Chris Stuchul
Email: christopher.stuchul@leehealth.org
Phone: 239-343-1300

Compliance Concerns

(Anonymous reporting available):

Compliance Hotline: 844-675-7692
or bestcarecollaborative.ethicspoint.com

Participating and Preferred Providers:

  • Lee Memorial Health System
  • The Christian and Missionary Alliance Foundation, Inc. (Shell Point Retirement Community)
  • Collier Health Services (Health Network of SWFL)
  • Pedro P. Ylisastigui, MD, PA
  • Fort Myers Internal Medicine
  • Cypress Family Medical Center
  • The Listening Doctor
  • Associates in Medicine and Surgery

See Full List of Providers

Medicare will inform the ACO of how patients are aligned with their physicians, but the patient can also inform us though MyMedicare.gov.  Please see the link to the Medicare website, along with an information sheet from CMS.

Fact Sheet Beneficiaries

ACO Participants and Preferred Provider Joint Ventures

Best Care Collaborative does not have any joint ventures at this time.


ACO Governing Body

Name Name of Employer
Harry Alberti, MD Lee Health
Jeannie Arana, MD Lee Physician Group
Leah Lynch, MD Lee Health
Patricia Daneshmand, DO Lee Physician Group
Kris Fay Lee Health
Alfred C. Gitu, MD Lee Physician Group
Gary Goforth, MD Shell Point
Tamar Gorenyuk Lee Health
Richard Macchiaroli, MD Lee Health
Scott Nygaard, MD Lee Health
Venkat Prasad, MD Lee Physician Group
Martin Schappell Shell Point
Ben Spence Lee Health
OPEN Patient Advocate
Michael Patasky Beneficiary
Jordan Taillon, MD Lee Physician Group

Key Clinical and Administrative Leadership

  • ACO Executive: Kris Fay
  • Medical Director: Venkat Prasad, MD
  • Compliance Official: Tammy Gorenyuk

Associated Committees and Committee Leadership

  • Executive Committee: Scott Nygaard, MD, Lee Health
  • Compliance Committee: Tamar Gorenyuk, Lee Health
  • Governance Committee: OPEN
  • Physician Advisory Council: Leah Lynch, MD, Lee Health
  • Quality: Alfred Gitu, MD, Lee Physician Group
  • Operations Committee: Kris Fay and Ben Spence (co-chairs), both Lee Health

Shared Savings and Losses

Performance Year 1 (2018): $15,714,401
Performance Year 2 (2019): $7,254,004
Performance Year 3 (2020): TBD

Shared Savings Distribution

The ACO’s governing body elects methodology for sharing of savings annually. Best Care Collaborative (BCC) uses shared savings to cover operating and administrative expenses followed by the distribution plan below

Shared savings invested in infrastructure, redesigned care processes, and other resources necessary to improve outcomes and reduce Medicare costs of beneficiaries:

Performance Year 1 (2018): 40%
Performance Year 2 (2019): 40%
Performance Year 3 (2020): TBD

Shared savings distributed to ACO Participants and Preferred Providers:

Performance Year 1 (2018): 60%
Performance Year 2 (2019): 60%
Performance Year 3 (2020): TBD

Quality Performance Results

2018 NGACO Quality Results

2019 NGACO Quality Results